Specialists of the National Center for AIDS Prevention of the Ministry of Health are Winners of the Armenian President's Award for 2018 in the Area of Medical Science


The ceremony of awarding the Prizes of the President of the Republic of Armenia for 2018 was held on June 10, 2019 at the Presidential Palace. President of the Republic of Armenia Armen Sargsyan and co-founder of "Robert Poghosyan and Sons" Foundation, Diaspora-Armenian philanthropist Jean Poghosyan gave awards for breakthrough discoveries or significant contribution to a number of areas.

The Presidential Prize in the area of medical science was awarded to a team of specialists of the National Center for AIDS Prevention for the work titled “Maintenance of the introduced system of prevention of mother-to-child transmission of HIV in Armenia as a prerequisite for having HIV free generation”, developed by Director of the Center, doctor of medical sciences, professor Samvel Grigoryan, Head of the HIV Surveillance Department Arshak Papoyan, Head of the Prevention Department Zhanetа Petrosyan, doctor epidemiologist Vardan Arzakanyan and doctor statistician Trdat Grigoryan.

The work describes the details of the consistent steps undertaken to establish, operate and maintain the system of prevention of mother-to-child HIV transmission, which created the prerequisites for the WHO’s validation, in 2016, of Armenia as a country where mother-to-child transmission of HIV was eliminated, and for maintenance of this status for 2016-2017.

Due to introduction and maintenance of an effective system of HIV prevention in Armenia, hundreds of HIV-free children were born to HIV-positive mothers, children who have avoided perspective of undergoing life-long treatment and follow-up. Significant amounts of the state budget funds have been saved. Thus, our country paved the way to a new HIV-free generation and provided high international ranking for the country's health system.

The annual RA Presidential Award is intended for the development of spheres of education, science and culture in Armenia. The Prize winners are representatives of various fields in the country, authors of the best valuable works and discoveries (inventions).

More details on the annual ceremony of RA Presidential Awarding for 2018 are at: